The Sunday Wisdom
The Sunday Wisdom
Better Be a Comedian Than a Salesperson
0:00
-20:43

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Sunday Wisdom

Better Be a Comedian Than a Salesperson

Or, soon there will only be people talking, and no one listening (SECRET POST #4)

Recently I had to give a presentation in my office where I had to pitch an idea. Just before it was about to begin, a colleague of mine whispered into my ear: “It’s a good idea. You should sell the shit out of it.”

Even though he had the best of intentions, it didn’t work for me. In fact, it had the opposite effect. I fumbled, I sweated, my mouth dried up. I couldn’t sell anything!

”Everything is sales.” I’ve got serious issues with this statement.

For starters, it gives me anxiety by putting undue pressure on me. It forces me to use persuasive language even if I’m not comfortable, and when I’d rather want to simply have a heart-to-heart. It forces me to be slightly fake when I would rather be more comfortable and at ease being slightly awkward yet authentic.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Sunday Wisdom to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Sunday Wisdom
The Sunday Wisdom
Essays at the intersection of business, philosophy, and psychology